Tuesday, October 24, 2017

2017 Fall Meacham Writers' Workshop begins October 26 at Chatt State

The Meacham Writers' Workshop is again providing free public readings from authors and reviews of local writers' submissions. The Meacham is held two times each year on the campuses of Chattanooga State and UTC. The readings begin at 7 pm on Thursday, October 26th at Chattanooga State's Health Science Center, room 1087.

Jaki Shelton Green, Russell Helms, Kris Whorton, and Earl Braggs will read selections from their works in HSC 1087. The readings are free and open to the public.

The Meacham will continue Friday, October 27th and Saturday, October 28th at UTC. For a full schedule and bios and sample works of all of the visiting writers, visit the Meacham web site at http://www.meachamwriters.org and click on schedule.

Read our 2014 blog post Meacham Writers’ Workshop FAQ with Bill Stifler for some great background information about the Meacham workshops.

From the Meacham website, bios of the authors who will be at Chattanooga State on October 26th:

Jaki Shelton Green teaches at Duke University Center for Documentary Studies. Her publications include Dead on Arrival, Masks, Dead on Arrival and New Poems, Conjure Blues, singing a tree into dance, breath of the song (Carolina Wren Press), and Feeding the Light (Jacar Press), and she was a 2014 NC Literary Hall of Fame inductee, a 2009 NC Piedmont Laureate, and received a 2003 NC Award in Literature, among other honors and accolades.

Russell Helms has had stories in Sand, Temenos, Drunken Boat, Litro, Versal, Bewildering Stories, The Moth, and other journals. He holds a lectureship in English at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Kris Whorton's (UTC Faculty) poetry has appeared in Eye-Rhyme, American Muse, Facets-magazine, and other journals.

Earl Sherman Braggs is a Herman H. Battle and UC Foundation Professor of English at the University of TN at Chattanooga. His teaching awards include two SGA Outstanding Teaching Awards and a UTNAA Outstanding Professor of the Year Award.

No comments: